Susan Wingate is a #1 Amazon bestselling, award-winning author of over fifteen novels. Her latest novel "How the Deer Moon Hungers" has won five book awards, including the 2020 SABA Book Awards for the Judge’s Selection “Best Fiction Author,” Best Fiction in the 2020 Pacific Book Award, a Silver Award in the 2020 Moonbeam Children's Book Award, and July 2020 Book Cover in the Book Cover of the Month Awards.

Susan Wingate writes “unputdownable, surprising and twisty tales with crackling dialogue that exhibit a rare deftness in style offering up stories that are riveting, original and with a humanity rarely seen in contemporary fiction.” Susan lives with her husband on a tiny island off the coast of Washington State where she tends to a lovable herd of deer.



If you want to know what makes me tick, it can be summed up with this one quote from A Sand County Almanac, “There are some who can live without wild things, and some who cannot.” ―Aldo Leopold.

Honestly, I cannot live without wild things, be they flora or fauna. In a nutshell, that’s why I moved away from Phoenix and moved to an island.

After I did, I would spot a rare wayward doe or buck in the earliest morning or later in the evening. Deer tend to be shy when they don’t know you. After time, however, while gardening or landscaping or simply hanging outside, more deer would show—to eat trimmings, nibble on branches, or even newly-planted foliage. Once, we’d planted two young cherry trees and went inside. After glancing out to see our handiwork, a buck reared up and, balancing on his back legs he ate the tenderest of cherry limbs near the top of our new small plant. I said, “Well, that’s an expensive lunch.”


Susan Wingate is an Amazon bestselling and award-winning author of over fifteen novels. Susan writes across fiction and nonfiction genres often setting her stories in the Pacific Northwest, specifically, Friday Harbor where she and her husband, Bob live. Susan’s poetry and short fiction have been included in journals such as the Virginia Quarterly, the Superstition Review, Suspense Magazine and many others.

Susan's Memberships Include: the International Thriller Writers, the Mystery Writers of America, the Women's Fiction Writers Association, the Pacific Northwest Booksellers Association, and the Pacific Northwest Writers Association.

Connect With Susan!

Join Susan's Mailing List 

Get her latest news and More!

We respect your privacy.
Follow Susan for the latest on social media

© 2023 Susan Wingate. All Rights Reserved. Website designed by Tamra Lyn Bessette